Jane and Prudence

Book Cover
Author:
Publisher:
Perennial Library
Pub. Date:
1982, c1981
Language:
English
Description
The author of Excellent Women explores female friendship and the quiet yearnings of British middle-class life—a literary delight for fans of Jane Austen. Jane Cleveland and Prudence Bates were close friends at Oxford University, but now live very different lives. Forty-one-year-old Jane lives in the country, is married to a vicar, has a daughter she adores, and lives a very proper life in a very proper English parish. Prudence, a year shy of thirty, lives in London, has an office job, and is self-sufficient and fiercely independent—until Jane decides her friend should be married. Jane has the perfect husband in mind for her former pupil: a widower named Fabian Driver. But there are other women vying for Fabian's attention. And Pru is nursing her own highly inappropriate desire for her older, married, and seemingly oblivious employer, Dr. Grampian. What follows is a witty, delightful, trenchant story of manners, morals, family, and female bonding that redefines the social novel for a new generation.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780060805944
9781480411784
9781705211038
9781453279618
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb9c56070-14f5-5d09-d795-0dfaeda4da83
Grouping Titlejane and prudence
Grouping Authorbarbara pym
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-08 18:03:20PM
Last Indexed2024-02-28 21:28:22PM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Sarah, Mary
author
Pym, Barbara
author2-role
Sarah, Mary
Sarah, Mary,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Pym, Barbara
available_at_adams
Adams State University
collection_adams
Main Collection
detailed_location_adams
ASU Main (3rd floor)
display_description
The author of Excellent Women explores female friendship and the quiet yearnings of British middle-class life—a literary delight for fans of Jane Austen. Jane Cleveland and Prudence Bates were close friends at Oxford University, but now live very different lives. Forty-one-year-old Jane lives in the country, is married to a vicar, has a daughter she adores, and lives a very proper life in a very proper English parish. Prudence, a year shy of thirty, lives in London, has an office job, and is self-sufficient and fiercely independent—until Jane decides her friend should be married. Jane has the perfect husband in mind for her former pupil: a widower named Fabian Driver. But there are other women vying for Fabian's attention. And Pru is nursing her own highly inappropriate desire for her older, married, and seemingly oblivious employer, Dr. Grampian. What follows is a witty, delightful, trenchant story of manners, morals, family, and female bonding that redefines the social novel for a new generation.
format_adams
Book
format_category_adams
Books
id
b9c56070-14f5-5d09-d795-0dfaeda4da83
isbn
9780060805944
9781453279618
9781480411784
9781705211038
itype_adams
Book
last_indexed
2024-02-29T04:28:22.950Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_adams
PR6066.Y58 J3 1982
owning_library_adams
Adams State University
owning_location_adams
Adams State University
primary_isbn
9780060805944
publishDate
1982
2013
2020
publisher
Open Road Media
Perennial Library
Tantor Audio
Tantor Media, Inc
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Electronic books
Families -- Fiction
Fiction
Humorous fiction
Literature
Literature -- Fiction
Women -- Fiction
title_display
Jane and Prudence
title_full
Jane and Prudence / Barbara Pym
Jane and Prudence [electronic resource] / Barbara Pym
Jane and prudence [electronic resource] : A novel. Barbara Pym
title_short
Jane and Prudence
topic_facet
Electronic books
Families
Fiction
Literature
Women

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12833620Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12833620?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrivecmc:ODN0005247003ODN0005247003Overdrive (CMC)Online Overdrive (CMC)eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverdrive (CMC)http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=162&titleID=5247003Available OnlineOverdrive (CMC)
hoopla:MWT11549902Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11549902?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b17598321.i22844156ASU Main (3rd floor)PR6066.Y58 J3 19821falsefalseOn ShelfJan 29, 2024as
overdrivecmc:ODN0001201843ODN0001201843Overdrive (CMC)Online Overdrive (CMC)eBookeBook1falsetrueOverdrive (CMC)http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=162&titleID=1201843Available OnlineOverdrive (CMC)

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12833620eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20201 online resource (1 audio file (7hr., 10 min.)) : digital.
overdrivecmc:ODN0005247003eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Audio20201 online resource (7 audio files) : digital
hoopla:MWT11549902eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media20131 online resource (222 pages)
ils:.b17598321BookBooksEnglishPerennial Library1982, c1981222 pages ; 18 cm
overdrivecmc:ODN0001201843eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media20131 online resource

scoping_details_adams

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b17598321.i22844156On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue56, 57, 58, 59